The Wireless Access Providers’ Association (WAPA) held its Annual General Meeting on Thursday, 18 September 2014, at the iWeek Conference in Johannesburg.

WAPA’s primary objective is to promote the growth of the wireless industry by facilitating self-regulation, promoting best practices, and educating both members and the market about new wireless technologies and business models.

The WAPA Management Committee for 2014/2015 was voted in at the AGM:
Ian Anderson
Paul Colmer
Mark Day
Gert du Toit
Ellie Hagopian
Arno Hart
Jens Langenhorst
Kerry Simpson

Ellie Hagopian has been elected as the WAPA Chairperson, with Jens Langenhorst as Deputy Chairperson, and Ian Anderson as Treasurer.

WAPA would like to thank the outgoing Committee members – Ziggy Heuer, Mohammad Patel and Jabulani Vilakazi – for their contribution to WAPA. A huge thanks to Mohammad Patel, who has served on the Committee since 2012, for two years as Deputy Chair and as Chairperson in the last term.

The incoming Committee will continue to focus on spectrum and regulatory policy to enable innovation and the promotion of fair competition, business development opportunities for members, promotion of technical and business best practices, and collaboration with other industry groups of shared aims.

 announces new leadership